8th Grader Writes Heartbreaking Letter About His Racist Experiences In School

Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 3.04.47 PM “It’s not right to judge people on their skin color before you get to know them because you can miss out on how good that person is.”

At 13, Za’Khari has handled the hatred of racism better than most, writing an open letter (see below) hoping to finally get his schools principal to wake up and do something. It’s heartbreaking that a child has had to  it’s important people realize the emotional and mental impact racism has on people, care needs to be given, not ignorance.

The honors student, along with family, friends and concerned people all over the nation are wondering when his principal will address the racism he’s continuously had to endure over the past 3 years; racism which is growing worse. This behavior needs to end – and if the principal doesn’t find it a serious enough to respond issue perhaps he has the wrong job and should let some know with more compassion and experience take his place.

Below is his open letter, a truthful letter which breaks my heart and angers my soul, , underneath an article which

To Whom It May Concern:

Yesterday on the football bus coming from our football game a kid … started saying racist things to me. He then started saying he does not like blacks and he told me 200 years ago my ancestors hung from a tree and after he said that I should I hang from a tree. That made me super mad, so in the locker room I told him not to call me n—-r or that I should be hung on a tree. The coaches took me away from the kid because I was really mad and they think I was going to fight him but I want someone to do something about it because I’m tired of boys messing with me because of my skin. I’m at my boiling point with this. Please do something about this because when I bring it to the office/principle you do nothing about it and I’m tired of the racism.

 

Source: 8th Grader Writes Heartbreaking Letter About His Racist Experiences In School

One thought on “8th Grader Writes Heartbreaking Letter About His Racist Experiences In School”

Comments are closed.