Addiction Should Be Met With Care; Not Punishment- Diary of a Heroin Addict Documentary

“Anyone who’s listening who fucking needs help, reach out and grab it, because it ain’t fucking easy, mate… ……Just fucking get help, just do something now, because it ain’t fucking gonna get better, mate. It ain’t gonna get better.” – Ben

As I continue to work on research and writing for an extensive report on drug addiction, heroin in particular, I feel I HAVE to post this documentary for many reasons, one is out of respect for the man behind it all. This is my absolute favorite documentary but at the same time, it is one of the most heartbreaking documentaries I’ve ever seen. If you or someone you love is addicted; especially to heroin, please, watch…

If you are addicted, I beg you to take the time to watch what he left behind. He was an addict from age 18 to 35… He is, I believe, a voice worth hearing. I beg you to please not give up and listen to the pleas of a man whom I believe gave all he had within to get off of a drug… A drug which may seem alluring to some for whatever reason, but in the end it is nothing but a horrific blight that takes and takes until there is no more…

Tragically, it took his life. As he battles to get back his life from heroin, he ends up passing away. Not by overdose; that may be the most common way this drug steals lives, but it is sadly not the only way.

I believe he made this video with the hope to reach any and every person out there who needs help and knows it, but is afraid. Or who may think it is under control, but deep down knows the truth is the exact opposite. We all know the reality of it, but if you are fighting it… as he says… get help…do something… because it will only get worse.

Though I’ve never experienced the pain it brings from the addict’s side, I know all too well the pain and horror it brings to the loved ones. I am posting this not just for people addicted but also for loved ones in hopes it may help promote understanding…

It truly makes me feel sick with sadness to know he is no longer here… Like too many… But I believe Ben shared the last 2 years of his life to help others who are addicted or who are ‘trying it out’ but getting a bit out of control… I believe he left us these videos so that there can be no excuse for not understanding and appreciating the struggle (and success) addicts go through. Prison is not needed; drugs need to be something we can talk about freely, so that people can get help without fearing punishment for a mistake made.

I hope Ben’s soul has found a better place now, he seems to be an amazing man who had a fatal attraction and addiction. He took the time to show us what life was like for him as an addict; I think the least we can do is respect his memory and listen to him. And maybe his words will help you in some way; maybe they will help inspire you to help others. Maybe you will just go away with a deeper understanding and more compassion… Either way, this is a documentary I think everyone should see.

Though I am not for censorship I will note there are possible TRIGGERS and scenes all through this film that may upset people, especially ex-users. He injects very consistently through out, so please, if you are recovering, bare this in mind and watch with caution. His life ended tragically… Please remember his words, no matter who you are… You can escape…:

“Anyone who’s listening who fucking needs help, reach out and grab it, because it ain’t fucking easy, mate… Drink and go on from the age of 7 to 35, like me. Cannabis abuse, from age 12 then on from magic mushrooms, base, speed, anything else- ketamine-, up until you hit the fucking smack trail at 18!!– Just fucking get help, just do something now, because it ain’t fucking gonna get better, mate. It ain’t gonna get better.” – Ben, 9 min 40 seconds in…

Leave a Reply

